5 Valuable Lessons from the Bestselling ‘Legend’ Series by Marie Lu

How would you define a legend? Perhaps Chinese-American author Marie Lu would qualify. She is well-known for her #1 New York Times bestselling young-adult dystopian series, Legend, which has captivated readers around the world, including the Philippines. 

Marie Lu, author of the New York Times best-selling “Legend” Series

The story takes place in a futuristic United States and is told from two very different perspectives, the series’ young lead protagonists, June and Day. Under the totalitarian government that rules their nation, an epic romantic saga unfolds. The characters face various challenges, but ultimately they emerge braver — truly inspiring the readers to face any battle in life.

Here are five valuable lessons from the book series:


1. Family is important.

Day, the male lead of the series, may be known as the Republic’s most wanted criminal, but he has lived a difficult life. Growing up with his family in the slums of the Republic, he risks his life every day to make sure that his family has enough food and necessities in order to survive. As the story unfolds, the readers are pulled in by the unwavering and sacrificial love that the characters have for their families. In the series, their families serve as inspiration and motivation to carry on amidst the challenges that life throws at them.


2. You’ll find love in the most unexpected places. 

The young main protagonists, June and Day, find each other in the most troubling times and fall hopelessly in love with each other. In the process of doing so, they try to understand each other more and disregard their prejudices, eventually treating each other with the utmost love and respect. The same goes for the deuteragonists as well, who have similarly admirable story arcs.


3. Don’t limit yourself to the confines of your bubble.

Unlike Day, June, the female lead of the series, grow up in one of the wealthiest areas in the city and has a bright and secure future to look forward to. She is well-trained and groomed by her superiors to be of service to the Republic. However, as intelligent as her character is, she can be naïve in certain situations. Growing up in a bubble of privilege and wealth has made June ignorant of everyone’s true motives. As her character matures, she bravely sets foot into the unknown. She also keeps an open mind and sympathizes with others. Moreover, she also develops better intuition, sees through the façade of the people she once trusted, and fights for what is right.


4. Don’t let this world eat you alive.

Throughout the series, there are a lot of instances wherein the characters are tested. In the end, their choices made them even more honorable and inspirational to the readers. The books show the importance of courage, valor, honor, and freedom. The series also reminds us that money, ambition, and power aren’t everything and that we must strive to become who we truly are and fight for what is just. The greatest tragedy is losing one’s self to worldly things.


5. Take action.

What made the honorable characters stand out from the rest was that they took action. Regardless if a simple act seemed like it didn’t make much of a difference, it truly contributed to the fight for justice. Even the smallest spark can ignite a fire. So, it’s important to fight for what we believe is right. There are so many things that we can contribute to the world — volunteering, speaking our mind, or even planting a tree. Regardless of how simple it may seem, it still holds value and could be a light in an otherwise dim world. 

Related Posts

Leave a Reply